Location: Milton Ernest, Bedfordshire
Architecture: Listed building extension and renovation
A grade two listed property in Bedford
This recently renovated property is a direct result of a client’s vision to create a family home, from a rundown cottage on the edge of Bedford.
Stone Cottage was built in 1669 by Richard and Thomas Morris (local stonemasons), and their initials RTM, along with the date, are carved into a stone on the west gable of the cottage. The cottage has a grade II listing, and therefore any renovation, repairs, or modernisation had to be sympathetic to the original structure.
Key to this project’s success during planning was the removal of the 1930s flat roof extensions. Using this as the platform to increase the floor area of a small cottage, we were able to negotiate a design that allowed this property to be extended into a very comfortable 4 bed family home with all the modern requirements of a growing family.
Our client’s passion to restore this listed property to the highest level of detail and no expense spared has truly paid off. Traditional methods of construction, lime render, oak boarding and reclaimed tiles, all culminate in us fulfilling the stunning vision our client had.